Thank goodness they’re late!

You know the feeling.  You’re expecting company and you’re not quite ready.  A few last-minute details remain.  You think the doorbell will ring momentarily.  You panic.

The phone rings.  “Hi, we’re running a bit late.  We’ll be there within a half-hour.”

Whew!  Saved!

Nuthatch

Nuthatch (Photo credit: StevoKebabo)

That was how I felt when I realized I’m only a week away from the mid-April date when I hang out my hummingbird feeder.  OMG!  I’m still watching my winter feeder visitors.  The Pine Siskins, the Red-breasted Nuthatches, the Dark-eyed Juncos.  I have not even thought about unplugging the cord from my heated bird bath.  And all of a sudden it hit me …. mid-April is almost upon me!

Well, I’m not really late.  Not yet.  I have a week to mix a batch of nectar and put up the hummingbird feeders.  I hope the wintering Pine Siskins won’t mind.  Their winter Nyjer seed feeder is about to be relocated.

Hummingbird aerodynamics of flight

I’ve been saved by the late arrival of the Ruby-throat Hummingbirds to my part of the world this year.  Thank goodness for the online hummingbird migration map.  Last year they were spotted here in Northeastern Illinois around March 21.  As of today, they have not even penetrated the Southern Illinois border.  But they’re close.  They’re just south of the Ohio River in Kentucky.  They’re near Metropolis, Illinois, home of Superman!

This entry was posted in bird watching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thank goodness they’re late!

  1. Deb Platt says:

    I regularly feed seed-eating birds, but gave up on humming birds because it seemed that I was always cleaning and refilling my nectar feeders, but never actually seeing any hummingbirds. But maybe I’ll give it another shot this year. It sounds like I need to make my mind up soon since they are so close to my area.

    • Our Ohio farm 10 miles north of Cambridge gets regular visitors to the hummer feeder. We’re not at the farm all the time, so it just goes up when someone’s there. But they know to look for it and it’s only a short time before the birds are humming around the feeder. Trick is to be patient.

Leave a Reply

