Seeing Red

I worked from home today.  That gave me a chance to look out at my wild bird feeders from time to time as I made trips to the kitchen to refill my coffee mug and have lunch.

 

English: Common Redpoll (Carduelis flammea), m...

English: Common Redpoll (Carduelis flammea), male, Cap Tourmente National Wildlife Area, Quebec, Canada. Français : Sizerin flammé (Carduelis flammea), mâle, Réserve nationale de faune du cap Tourmente, Québec, Canada. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

I was treated to the sight of a male and female Common Redpoll pair on the nyjer seed feeder outside the kitchen window.  I saw a male Redpoll earlier this winter.  He was fairly bold and allowed me to get quite close.  It’s a treat to see these birds.  They come in the winter from their Arctic summer homes to as far south as the Central U.S.  I’ve seen highly experienced birders get terribly excited over the site of these LBBs (Little Brown Birds) with the red caps during bird count events.  In addition to their distinctive red caps, the males have rosy red patches on each side.  They may be having an irruptive year traveling farther south than usual.  I think this could be the case since even the few sightings I’ve had are a lot for my winter feeders.

 

English: Red-winged Blackbird, Point Pelee Nat...

English: Red-winged Blackbird, Point Pelee National Park, Ontario, Canada Français : Carouge à épaulettes, Parc national de la Pointe-Pelée, Ontario, Canada Русский: Красноплечий чёрный трупиал (Agelaius phoeniceus), Онтарио, Канада (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

And just when I thought I had my treat for the day, I spotted two visitors sporting red patches in the tree outside my living room window.  This time it was a pair of male Red-wing Blackbirds singing their little hearts out and displaying those handsome red epaulettes.  I suspect they’ve been here before since they seemed so familiar with the feeder location and comfortable perching at the sunflower snack bar.  I’m sure they’re eying the marshy area out back to establish their summer breeding territories.

 

So, watch for birds with patches of red.  If you’re in the northern tier of U.S. states or in Canada, the redpolls are in your neighborhood.  And those Red-wing Blackbirds are making their way back into nesting territory.

 

I saw signs of winter and spring outside my windows today.  It’s March.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in bird watching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Seeing Red

  1. Pingback: More lesser redpolls in British gardens | Dear Kitty. Some blog

  2. Deb Platt says:

    I have heard of sightings of Redpolls in Ohio, but I wasn’t lucky enough to see one. Nice that you have them using your feeder.

  3. Cornel A. says:

    Common Redpoll is amazing!!!!! So beautiful plumage!!!!!!!!!!!!
    And Red-winged Blackbird is nice also!!!!!!!

    We don’t have them here!
    Thank you !

Leave a Reply

