Sealing my houses for winter

I went out on the bluebird trail this morning.  It was cool, cloudy and somewhat damp.  I took a guess at how many layers I needed to keep me snug.  My mission: to close the entry holes in the bluebird nest boxes on my routes against any undesirable winter intruders – animals that might use them for shelter and then claim squatters’ rights come spring.  I encountered four walkers on the trail.  They each must have wondered why a woman with binoculars hanging around her neck was carrying a big roll of duct tape and a pair of scissors.  At each stop I was careful to stand to the side and rear of the bird nest box before removing the front cover.  That’s routine during breeding season to assure a nesting bird does not become startled and fly into the monitor.  Now that breeding season is over, there’s still the possibility of some other occupant, like a mouse, “flying” into an unsuspecting monitor.  As I have found, mice can jump very long distances.  But, no mice today.  At each of the twenty boxes on the bluebird route, I placed a strip of duct tape over the entry hole on the inside of the cover.  Happy to have the chore done and happy to have guessed that two layers under my parka was just right to keep me comfortable, I paused to snap a few photos for you.  Oh, and those are strips of caulk below the inside of the bird box opening.  They’re a help to the birds and fledglings when they exit.

I hope you’ll be warm and snug in your house this winter.

This entry was posted in bird watching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sealing my houses for winter

  1. Anonymous says:

    Hi Cheryl – As usual I love the photos you attach to your blog. I sealed up my boxes a few weeks ago already. This weather has been so jumpy, that I’m not sure any critters know what they are supposed to be doing !

  2. Deb Platt says:

    Early this spring I was wandering by a nesting box in a park, and it looked like some little critter had stuffed the entrance of the box with nesting materials. It was completely blocked off. I don’t know how it got in and out. I wondered what it was, and after reading your post I’m thinking that a mouse had taken up residence there.

    • Hum-m-m-m. Interesting. My little mice don’t fill up the box that much that the whole entrance is blocked. I wonder what was in there! If you are ever brave enough to peek in on a nest box … remember … NEVER stand right in front of the entrance. You don’t know what can come rushing out at you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

