Big Bird

Photograph of First Lady Hillary Rodham Clinto...

Photograph of First Lady Hillary Rodham Clinton Posing on the Big Bird Nest Set with Big Bird… (Photo credit: The U.S. National Archives)

Yes, I did watch the presidential debate last Wednesday evening.  And if you are not living under a rock, you know the Muppets’ Big Bird made an appearance of sorts that night.  Not to worry, this post isn’t about THAT Big Bird.  I am not going to get political except to say that I found photos of Big Bird with America’s First Ladies Patricia Nixon and Hillary Rodham Clinton.  No political favoritism here.  It’s just that the photo of Hillary and Big Bird is a better one.  The photo with Pat Nixon just showed her with some big yellow feathers.

“Big bird,” I said to myself today (and for a fleeting moment, therefore, the Big Bird debate came to mind) when I spied the second juvenile Cooper’s Hawk in a week at the corner of my deck.  The first one just sat there looking important as he surveyed the terrain.  Today, I inadvertently interrupted a second hawk moments after he snared a bird of some size and took off north with it in his talons.

Juvenile Cooper's Hawk (Accipiter cooperii) ta...

 

Being used to my small backyard bird regulars, to me that hawk looked like a pretty big bird … albeit not yellow.  I didn’t get a good look at what it carried off, but I’d guess it was a Mourning Dove judging from the size and color of the feathers that went flying as hawk and prey lifted off.

Stepping out on the deck to enjoy the cool sun and consider starting that autumn flower garden cleanup project this weekend, I looked up to see a heron in flight overhead.  Its wing span was remarkable and its silhouette unmistakable.  “Big bird,” I said to myself again.

Thus, today’s theme … Big Bird.  But the truth is, cheri, that Miss Piggy was always moi‘s favorite.

This entry was posted in bird watching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Big Bird

Leave a Reply

