Inviting songbirds

English: I took this photo at Warrenville Grov...My birding club just sent an email to let members know the local park district is inviting volunteers to join in a special project on Friday, September 28th.  The project will enhance the wild songbird habitat at a park that runs parallel to the river running through town.  It also happens to be very nearby my bluebird route.

This park is home to over 270 acres of prairie and wetland habitats.  A $5,000 grant from Scotts Songbird Selections was provided to purchase hawthorn trees, crabapple trees and prairie plants to draw songbirds by adding to the habitat.

Alma Mater by Lorado Taft, on the campus of th...

Alma Mater by Lorado Taft, on the campus of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC), Urbana-Champaign, Illinois, USA. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Too bad that I’ll be out of town for a long weekend visiting my alma mater to participate in the annual meeting and gala events of the university foundation of which I’m a member.  But even if I can’t help plant trees in my neighborhood this weekend, I’ll have my binoculars with me to keep an eye out for my feathered  friends.  I’m even forgoing the football game in favor of spending some quiet time strolling on campus.

I hope you get to enjoy some quiet time out of doors this weekend.

This entry was posted in bird watching and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

