Suddenly Gone

This year it’s the same only different.

This year my first Ruby-throated hummingbird arrived fairly much on schedule on May 17th.  I didn’t see another until June 25th.  Thereafter, I had at least one sighting every day.  In previous years I didn’t see them often in June or July.  It’s their “low” time, as the lady at my bird supply store once advised.  But this year was different.  There were definitely more visitors to the feeder during those months.  As the summer wore on, hummingbird visits became more frequent when those who flew as far north as Canada for breeding season began their migration back south.  As usual, mid-August to mid-September were the busiest weeks around my feeder.

Typically, hummer visits begin to taper off and my last sighting is during the last week in September or first week in October.  But this year they are suddenly GONE!  My last sighting was on Thursday, September 13th.  That’s way, way too early for them to suddenly vanish!  I can’t imagine what has made them want to leave us so soon.

I’ll keep the feeders out until mid-October to help any stragglers who may need an energy boost along the way.

God speed my little ones.  Travel safely.  I’ll see you in May.

Until springtime, I’ll keep this ‘rescued baby hummingbird‘ video handy.  It will make the dark winter nights more bearable.  Thanks to my cousins Jessica and Sally for passing it along.  I know you’ll enjoy it, too.

This entry was posted in bird watching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Suddenly Gone

  1. I wish you could come to my house and tell me what little birds were flapping around in my yard…

    • Give me a hint … color, size of bird? Markings, e.g., black eye stripe? Size, shape, color of bill? What area of the country are you in? Have you consulted a field guide? They’re wonderful … even for the backyard birder making observations from a window. You could try the What Bird site … http://www.whatbird.com/

      • Well, one is a humming bird, yellow and black (on his wing) and the other is definitely some sort of grey crane. I live right along the Minnesota river and there is a wildlife/wild bird refuge there. I haven’t checked field guides yet. I just look out my window and wonder what all of their names are. Thanks for the link, and the help. 🙂

        • Okay, so it sounds like you’re near the Minnesota Valley National Wildlife Refuge. I found a link — http://www.fws.gov/refuge/Minnesota_Valley/about.html

          I’m thinking the yellow bird with black on his wings is a Gold Finch. A gray crane? Hum-m-m-m. I wonder if you could be seeing either a Sandhill Crane or Great Blue Heron?

          Yep … you need a field guide, Girl Who Reads Books. That would be a perfect book for a girl who lives on the edge of a wildlife refuge! 🙂

  2. And enjoy it I did – as did my little girl. I’m still seeing your missing birds’ cousins here in Lansing, even though (hangs head in shame) I didn’t ever put out a feeder for them this year. Happy autumn to you.

Leave a Reply

