A death in the family

Things were not right on Thursday and Friday, September 6th & 7th.

By the afternoon of Saturday the 8th, hospitalization was required.

By the following Monday the prognosis was worse as the patient deteriorated.

On Tuesday, September 11th, the decision was made to end life support.

Good-bye, my old friend.

Following a suitable few days of mourning, the new desktop PC was installed.  An all-in-one printer/copier/fax was purchased to complete the swap out of old hardware on Friday, September 14th.

Getting the home network set up for the laptop has been bumpy.

Saturday past, “Dr. Rob” (as I call my local computer tech) made a house call.

I’m now getting up to speed on Windows 7 and Internet Explorer 9.

I finally succeeded in being able to dial in to my office remotely after messing with the ActiveX settings.

Still trying to figure out what to do with the plug for the wall jack to hook up the fax.  What do they expect me to be able to do with no land line, ergo no “live” wall jack?  Anyone know anything about splitters, routers and modems?

Will be blogging again shortly.

Birds are getting impatient.

Thanks for your sympathy.

This entry was posted in bird watching. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A death in the family

  1. It’s funny how technology can be such a pain sometimes, but we just can’t live without it. 🙂

  2. I ‘got gottent’ too! How well I know the frustrations of computer installation and how it can eat up your time.

  3. Well, you got me! I avoided this thinking I wouldn’t have anything wise to say after reading about, I don’t know, your brother. Then I got up the gumption to read and was sure it would be a bird. Oh was I gotten!

    I still don’t have anything wise to offer about your connection issues, though.

  4. Deb Platt says:

    My understanding is that you can’t make fax work in your home if you no longer use a land line (that’s our situation, too).

    I was just reading that there is a security problem with Internet Explorer right now (to read more about it, go here). If you accidentally go to the wrong site, malicious software can gain the same user privileges that you have and possibly take over your computer. I typically use Firefox (which is safe), as are other browsers (such as Chrome or Opera). So far Microsoft hasn’t put out an update for their IE browser; but I wouldn’t use it until they do. I can’t update to IE 10 (that’s safe) because like you I’m running Windows 7 and IE 10 is being released with the new Windows 8.

    By the way, it’s supposed to be safer on Windows to create a user account for yourself that does not have administrator privileges (so it can’t install software), so if you do run into something malicious on the web, it can’t install software of its choosing on your machine. That said, I’m not following this advice myself. 🙄 But maybe I should. It’s easier to do if you are just starting out on a machine. Now I feel like I already have zillions of files owned by one account, and it seems like it would be a hassle to try to transfer ownership to my new, alter ego.

    • Thanks for the info, Deb. I tried Firefox. I just can’t get used to it. Maybe I’ll go over and test-drive Google Chrome.

      The HP Officejet Pro 8600 Plus instructions talk about putting a splitter somewhere if you don’t have a live landline wall jack, but for the life of me, I can’t see where to plug it in anywhere. There does not seem to be a port for it.

      I think a subscription to eFax or some service like that is supposed to work. I’ve used that before, but prefer not to have to pay the subscription fee. Or, I should be able to scan and email documents.

      I’ll figure it out.

      Thanks for taking time to detail that important security info!

  5. Christine Patterson says:

    Hi Cheryl: Oh, can I relate ! Here’s what I KNOW about ‘splitters’…….if the phone jack coming out of the wall is what your internet service provider uses to connect you, you have to have a ‘splitter’ plugged into the wall jack; this splitter has, then two different ports — one for your actual telephone, and one for your internet. This way, the signal knows if it’s for the phone or the computer.

    At least that’s how it works with us since we have AT&T for both phone and internet.

    Good luck, my friend.

    🙂

    Chris

    • That’s the point, Chris. I don’t have “an actual telephone”. I replaced my landline with VOIP (a phone that uses the internet cable to deliver calls). The wall phone jack is DEAD and in Obsolete Technology Heaven with my old computer.

Leave a Reply

