How to Sex a Ruby-throat Hummingbird – Lesson 3

bird, birds, birding, bird watching, birdwatching, wild birds, wild bird watching, hummingbird, ruby throated hummingbird, ruby-throated hummingbird, nature, photography

Here’s lookin’ at you, Kid!

Our third lesson continues observation of the RTHU throat. 

I have an advantage in that I got a very good look at this RTHU as it hovered mere inches in front of my face staring at me.  It may have been trying to either determine if it was safe to sip nectar from the feeder I was holding or intimidate me.  My bet is it was the later.  It also chirped at me very deliberately and loudly. 

Perhaps you can observe from the photo, but I will report to you that this little bird’s throat had distinctive dark streaks.  Most often, RTHUs with such noticeable streaks are males.  Female RTHU throats are white or may have some faint lighter streaking.

Stay tuned.  More to come.

This entry was posted in bird watching. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How to Sex a Ruby-throat Hummingbird – Lesson 3

  1. Hmm – the intrigue grows.

Leave a Reply

