I almost forgot.

The local birding club didn’t send me a notice to renew my membership.  Annual membership dues were due July 1st!  I read about it in the email club newsletter I just received.  Do you think I’ll be in trouble if I drop the check in the mail today?  Will they mind terribly if my renewal form and check are a bit late?  Oh, of course I’m just kidding.  It’s a great club with more activity than I could ever handle in a lifetime and I’m sure I’ll be seeing the cashed check show up online in my bank account records shortly.  The speakers at club meetings are such skilled birders, they put my meager attempts at birding to shame.  Maybe I can be like some of these experts when I grow up.  I think I’ll buy one of those club hats at the next meeting.  It might make me look like an expert birder.

A male Downy Woodpecker, in Poquott, Long Isla...

A male Downy Woodpecker, in Poquott, Long Island, New York, USA. Français : Un Pic mineur (Picoides pubescens) mâle. Photo prise à Poquott, sur l’île de Long Island (État de New York, États-Unis). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Oh, and the club’s logo is a Downy Woodpecker.  Wonderful bird.

Will I see you at the next club meeting?  You’re not a member?  It’s okay – guests are always welcome at my birding club.  Hope to see you there soon!

This entry was posted in bird watching and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

