A second bluebird route for Annie.

 

white flowers bloom in the forest

white flowers bloom in the forest

Last season I was asked to take over a second bluebird monitor route from another volunteer who was unable to complete the season.  It’s happened again this season.  So, if you hop over to my bluebird journal – you’ll see more than double the number of nest boxes I’m reporting on.

flowers drip from the trees

flowers drip from the trees

It was an exciting day today.  Last week I had 1 route and 2 bluebird eggs.  Today I have 2 routes, 13 bluebird eggs and 4 bluebird nestlings!  A bluebird explosion!

last week there were only two

last week there were only two

And Ricky and Lucy are flying aces!  In and out and all over hunting for insects to feed hungry babies.  We had a frosty night a couple of nights ago.  While I wondered if Lucy would be able to keep the babies warm, I was not too worried.  Mother Nature is resilient and as I always say, “The birds know what to do.”

This entry was posted in Bird House, Birding, Bluebirds, Wild Birds and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

