Black-capped Chickadee Nest Box Contents Revealed!

I have not seen Ricky and Lucy for a few days.  I worry. 

Could they have abandoned the nest box for a place more to their liking?  I worry. 

Perhaps Lucy is finished arranging the nest and is now taking a break before the next step in the chickadee life cycle.    I wonder. 

They say nest construction can take from 3-4 days up to 2 weeks.  Goodness knows they began so early in the season; the chickadees can certainly afford to take their time.  I rationalize. 

Normally, egg laying takes place from mid-April to early July, generally beginning a few days after nest construction is complete.  But they began so early and the unseasonable warmth has given way to seasonably cool temperatures.  Could the cooler temperatures have given Ricky and Lucy pause about when to begin the next step?  I wonder. 

It’s time to take a look and see what’s gone on in Ricky and Lucy’s nest box.  I worry, wonder and anticipate. 

I have learned to steel myself when monitoring wild bird nest boxes.  The revelation inside can have my heart soaring with joy or filling with sadness.  That is nature’s way.  I worry, wonder and anticipate. 

Are you ready to learn the fate of Ricky and Lucy’s nest box since last week?  Here is what was revealed with the latest look inside…

Things are just beginning to get interesting.

This entry was posted in Bird House, bird watching, Birding, Wild Birds and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Black-capped Chickadee Nest Box Contents Revealed!

  1. Dont worry.. perhaps they took a break after all! How did you take all those close-up shots?

Leave a Reply

