OMG! Spring is on its way!

Bluebirds and Frogs

See! I told you in the very first post with which I began this blog back on November 18th!  It may be approaching the first day of winter, shortest day of the year, with the worst weather ahead of us and the first snow of the season on the ground today as I type.  BUT!  Today I received the first news of Spring in my email box!  I was not expecting to get this news for some while.  But I see my forest preserve district volunteer coordinator is as excited about the year ahead as I am.  Today she sent a “save the date” flyer announcing something new for 2012…a joint feedback session for both bluebird AND frog monitors!  (Yes, there is such a thing as a frog monitor, but they’ll have to start their own blog.)  We generally have a bluebird monitor session in mid to late February during which time we review our data for the last season and discuss monitoring techniques for new volunteers.  I’m really looking forward to this.

Day / Date / Time / Place
     *   Saturday, February 11, 2012
     *   bluebird feedback from 10 a.m. – 12 p.m.
     *   bluebird & frog lunch from 1
2 – 1 p.m.
     *   frog feedback from 1 – 3 p.m.
     *   district grounds and resources complex

So – mark your calendar and make sure to come back here to check out news from the February Eastern Bluebird Monitor pre-season event!

This entry was posted in Birding and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

