Keeping Up Their Interest

The first thing that caught my eye as I descended the stairs this morning, was a Chickadee sipping water from the bird bath.  He lingered a while and took many sips.  A short time later, I saw “Mister Bird” sipping at the bird bath.  “Mister Bird” is my name for the male Northern Cardinal.  When I placed my first feeders several years ago, Cardinals and Gold Finches were the birds I wanted to attract.  I’ve learned a lot about Cardinals since then.  Wherever a male Cardinal is spotted, a female is often nearby and vice versa.  Thus, I have dubbed them “Mr. Bird” and “Mrs. Bird”.

What little sun there was this morning retreated behind clouds.  I generally notice less bird activity around my feeders on cloudy than on sunny days.   Making sure to keep up the birds’ interest in visiting my feeding station, this afternoon I filled the (squirrel proof) hopper with the black-oil and striped sunflower, safflower, millet seed mix; topped off the Gold Finch feeder with thistle; and, dropped a new hot pepper laced cake into the suet feeder.

That’s it for a cool, cloudy day … now on to check the soup pot simmering on the stove!

This entry was posted in Birding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

