Downy Daddy, Downy Youngster, Coffee break

English: An adult male Downy Woodpecker, Picoi...

I love it when I spy adult birds bringing their young to my feeders.  I keep most of the feeders very near windows where I can watch the wild birds up close.  Today as I ran down the stairs toward the kitchen in a hurry to re-fill my coffee mug, I stopped.  I was instantly fascinated by the view of a male Downy Woodpecker at my suet prison (a cage that allows small birds to enter and feed while keeping out large birds and critters such as squirrels) with his offspring, a young male.  At times the youngster fed on the suet.  At other times he clung to the bark of the nearby hawthorn tree and Downy Daddy brought the suet to him and fed him.  While Woody Dad was in the suet prison munching, Woody Junior was clinging to the tree trying to figure out what the fascination is with hunting for insects.  Suddenly a Gray Catbird fluttered down to check things out and startled Junior who flew west toward trees on the other side of the house.  OMG!  “Is that kid old enough to fly unsupervised?” I thought.  Downy Dad looked up, paused, and decided to go after his youngster.  Away west he flew.  Seconds later they were right back with Dad leading and Junior tailing him.  The two continued feeding with Dad demonstrating how to climb in and out of the suet prison and how not to be intimidated by other birds. 

Then, the phone rang.  I re-filled my coffee mug and got back to work.

About Bluebird Annie

My passion for wild bird watching began with one feeder and snowballed from there. The activity that feeder produced led me to participate in a field study of Ruby-throated Hummingbirds in Costa Rica, become a volunteer Bluebird monitor reporting data on cavity nesting birds for my local forest preserve district, and start a blog to share my birding experiences. What will be next?
This entry was posted in bird watching and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Downy Daddy, Downy Youngster, Coffee break

  1. That is such a sweet picture!

Leave a Reply

