I think it’s safe now.

Bird Bath

Bird Bath (Photo credit: Lawrence OP)

I think it’s safe to put out my second bird bath for the season.  I have one that I keep out all year around.  That one has a thermostatically controlled built-in heater that keeps the water open for the birds in winter.  It’s made to withstand the brutal frigid temperatures.  But my other is made of material that will crack and break if left out so it gets stored in the garage along with the other garden gear.

But now it’s warm enough.  Even a late-season frost won’t harm it.  So back out into the garden it goes near the hummingbird feeder where I can see them both from my kitchen window.

The robins will find it and splash up a storm very soon!

About Bluebird Annie

My passion for wild bird watching began with one feeder and snowballed from there. The activity that feeder produced led me to participate in a field study of Ruby-throated Hummingbirds in Costa Rica, become a volunteer Bluebird monitor reporting data on cavity nesting birds for my local forest preserve district, and start a blog to share my birding experiences. What will be next?
This entry was posted in bird watching, birding, Wild Birds and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

