If you build it, they will come.

Believe me or not.  There were no birds in sight.  Not terribly unusual.  I hung the Chickadee nest box in a tree that experience has taught me is far away enough from my garden feeding station to maintain an adequate distance from other visiting birds yet close enough to food, shelter and water to make them feel safe and comfortable.  I placed it about 6 1/2 feet off the ground (they like it to be at least 5 1/2 feet off of the ground).  I walked back toward my house and thought I heard a Chickadee call.  Looking over my shoulder and back in the direction I left the nest box, what did I spy?  Yes.  A Chickadee clinging to the entrance hole and peering inside the box.  Then, I heard a Chickadee in the tree above me and looked up to see a second one eating a safflower seed it had selected from my feeder.  Once done with its snack, the little bird made a bee-line toward the nest box and also peeked inside!  I had the feeling this pair of Chickadees was watching me all the while and as soon as I moved an acceptable distance from the nest box, they didn’t delay in checking it out.  WOW!  Now that’s action and re-action!  That small adjustment I made to the month in which I offer a nesting cavity made all the difference!  Only time will tell if I have tenants move in and successfully raise a family.  It will be fun to see what happens.  I’ll keep you posted.

About Bluebird Annie

My passion for wild bird watching began with one feeder and snowballed from there. The activity that feeder produced led me to participate in a field study of Ruby-throated Hummingbirds in Costa Rica, become a volunteer Bluebird monitor reporting data on cavity nesting birds for my local forest preserve district, and start a blog to share my birding experiences. What will be next?
This entry was posted in Bird House, bird watching, Birding, Wild Birds and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to If you build it, they will come.

  1. Pingback: Day 24: Chickadee | Haven't We Done This Before?

  2. The Black-capped Chickadees stay all year around. That is one reason I like them. I can watch their behavior in each season.

  3. It would be exciting to have them till next Fall!! :)

Leave a Reply

